Ashtanga Yoga: A Comprehensive Guide to Its Eight Limbs

3 Min Read


Ashtanga Yoga: A Comprehensive Guide to Its Eight Limbs

Ashtanga yoga, a branch of yoga that focuses on the eight limbs of yoga, derives its name from the Sanskrit word “ashtanga,” which means “eight limbs.” These eight limbs are:

  • Yama (moral principles)
  • Niyama (personal observances)
  • Asana (physical postures)
  • Pranayama (breath control)
  • Pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses)
  • Dharana (concentration)
  • Dhyana (meditation)
  • Samadhi (enlightenment)

Ashtanga yoga practitioners believe that working on these eight limbs simultaneously, rather than in a sequential order, leads to a more holistic and transformative practice.

The Lineage of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga is believed to have been passed down through a lineage of divine masters, including Maharishi Patanjali and Maharishi Shring.

The Benefits of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga is said to offer numerous benefits, including:

  • Improved physical health
  • Enhanced mental clarity
  • Increased emotional stability
  • Increased spiritual awareness

The Importance of Isolation in Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga is often considered a challenging practice due to its emphasis on social isolation.

During the practice, practitioners are encouraged to isolate themselves from others, as this is believed to accelerate the acquisition of knowledge and promote a deeper understanding of the subject.

While social isolation may not be a common practice in modern society, it is said that those who embrace it can achieve the full benefits of ashtanga yoga.

The Role of the Guru in Ashtanga Yoga

The guru, or spiritual master, plays a crucial role in the practice of ashtanga yoga.

The guru provides guidance, support, and ancient techniques that help practitioners progress on their path.

Ashtanga yoga practitioners are advised to seek out a qualified guru to guide them on their journey.


Ashtanga yoga is a comprehensive and multifaceted practice that offers a path to physical, mental, and spiritual well-being.

By embracing the eight limbs of yoga and working under the guidance of a qualified guru, practitioners can experience the transformative benefits of this ancient practice.

Copyright © OMG I Yoga 2023. All rights reserved.


Share This Article