Padma Shri Honors Bestowed Upon Swami Sivananda

2 Min Read

Accolades for Distinguished Contributions to Yoga

On Monday, Swami Sivananda, a revered yoga guru from Kashi, was presented with the prestigious Padma Shri award by President Ram Nath Kovind. This recognition is a testament to Swami Sivananda’s exceptional commitment to the field of yoga, aptly earning him the title “Yog Sevak.”

Swami Sivananda, a centenarian, expressed his gratitude by humbly bowing before the President and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The Padma Awards, among the nation’s highest civilian honors, are bestowed in three categories: Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri.
The awards encompass a diverse range of disciplines, including art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature, education, sports, civil service, and more.
Padma Vibhushan honors individuals with exceptional and distinguished service, while Padma Bhushan recognizes distinguished service of a high order. Padma Shri acknowledges distinguished contributions in any field.
The announcement of the Padma Awards coincides with the annual Republic Day celebrations. The President of India confers these awards during ceremonial functions held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, typically in March or April.
This year, the President approved the conferment of 128 Padma Awards, including two duo cases (counted as one award). The roster encompasses 4 Padma Vibhushan recipients, 17 Padma Bhushan awardees, and 107 Padma Shri honorees. Notably, 34 awardees are women, and 10 individuals belong to the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI. Furthermore, 13 posthumous awards were bestowed.
Swami Sivananda’s Padma Shri award is a fitting tribute to his unwavering dedication to promoting yoga and its profound benefits. His contributions have enriched the lives of countless individuals, fostering physical well-being, mental clarity, and spiritual growth.

Author: Dr. Arvind Sharma

Credit and Rights: OMG I Yoga

Share This Article